Butter Tarts

You could say that butter tarts make the cold go away.  The heavy snow today stifled any desire I had to shop.  Too much cold; too much snow.  As I find it very hard to just sit, I decided to get creative in the kitchen.  It’s a warm way to spend such a day too.  Beginning with soups, I made two.  One thick pea and ham, and one lentil soup.  This afternoon I made up this really easy recipe for butter tarts.  Very easy and, I can attest to this, very yummy.  Now I need to freeze some, otherwise they will vanish pretty quickly.  🙂  Recipe available if you’d like to try them for yourself.

Patricia

dsc00533

3 thoughts on “Butter Tarts

    • Not sure. I printed it from a website (didn’t keep name). But here it is. Enjoy.
      This recipe should give somewhere between 3 and 4 dozen tarts, depending on how full you fill the shells and how big your tart tins are.
      Ingredients:
      1 cup butter, melted
      3 tablespoons vinegar (I used white)
      4 eggs, lightly beaten
      4 cups brown sugar
      2 tspns vanilla
      1/3 cup raisins (optional)

      Directions
      Line tart tins with pastry (I used ready made frozen shells) Sprinkle 6-8 raisins into each tart shell
      Let butter cool to room temperature then add the remaining ingredients. Stir until smooth.
      Spoon into unbaked tart shells, filling 2/3 full.
      Bake at 200F for 15 minutes, then without taking the tarts out, turn the oven to 350F. Bake another 10-15 minutes, until they start to brown. This method will prevent them from boiling over.

      I got 2 dozen small tarts from this. I had some fill mixture left over but ran out of tart shells.
      Once the oven was turned off I left the tarts in the oven to gradually cool and set.

      I’ve tried other recipes. This was the easiest yet. ENJOY!

Comments are closed.