Cold and Snowy

Today has dawned cold, blustery and (just a little) snowy.  I guess our wonderful mild late fall days have retreated for a few months.

So many people have already set up Christmas decorations outside their homes.  We have a neighbour taking great delight in adding to his display of 2015.

I begin to get into Christmas mode once December arrives.  All the (retail) hype, which begins in October, bores me.  It negates the relevance of what Christmas is about.

Like it or not folks, Christmas is all about the story of Christ.  A little baby boy’s story that has given us a reason for great joy each December.

When I was a child, it was a magical time.  As a family we made all the decorations for our home. My mother made Christmas puddings and fruit cake, which to this day causes my mouth to water as I recall how delicious they were.

I don’t make puddings but I do make a fruit and nut Christmas cake.  It is a recipe from Quebec that has become a firm favourite with my family.  It is our traditional must-bake. It has a long list of ingredients, but is very easy to make, and is really yummy.

I recently IMG_5877found a really neat website with good, old-fashioned ideas for Christmas.  Check it out for yourself.  It might even bring back some happy memories for you.

http://www.familychristmasonline.com

Patricia

