The Persistent Noise of Freedom

IMG_0405

Psalm:  28:7-9 You are my strong shield, and I trust You completely.  You have helped me, and I will celebrate and thank you in song.  You give strength to Your people, Lord.  And you save and protect Your chosen ones.  Come save us and bless us.  Be our shepherd and always carry us in Your arms.  CEV

Whenever I listen to the music of Les Miserable, I continue to hear it on and on, long after the source of the music has faded.  I find many of the songs hauntingly beautiful despite the fact they are relating real and traumatic events.

It is not due to distaste for the music, or the lyrics, it is that the content resonates in ways I cannot describe.  What I do know is that my mind instantly becomes saturated with the tunes and words, as well as the stirring anguish of the main characters.  Having seen the movie no doubt adds to the depth of emotion I encounter.  It is filled with human suffering and fights for liberation of many kinds.

The peoples freedom was won at great cost.  Today, there are similar battles still raging.  The news is full of suffering, conflict and pain.  Perhaps that explains why my head remains filled with melodious refrains.  I can almost feel the devastating conflicts and heart-wrenching decisions being made.

Perhaps, I can relate to some of the struggles so skillfully portrayed in the movie.  The characters blend with my psyche and their grief invades my being.  I become one with them.

So when I hear ‘I dreamed a Dream’ – Little Fall of Rain – Bring Him Home or A Heart Full of Love and more, my head takes me on a journey back in time, and I live through the revolutionary battle, along with Fantine, Valjean, Cosette and the cast members.  I take on their fight and the music, and I battle on.  After two or three days, the music in my head begins to fade and I can once again escape the fight for freedom that they fought, and escape into my ordinary, often mundane day.

But it is my day.  I am free, because at one time battles were fought to keep it so.  The battles for freedom continue.  Some will succeed.  Others will fail.  That is the way of the world, and it is often brutally unkind.

In the spiritual realm, God rules.  His domain is worthy of our effort.  He gives solace, and mercy, and strength to those who believe in Him.  Those who choose His Way, through Jesus, might not have worldly success, but they will have spiritual strength, and will be rewarded with eternal life.

Prayer:  Father God, your Bible assures us of Your unending love for each of us.  Through our many struggles, You are with us.  Please reassure us, according to our needs, because You tell us that you give us strength and will protect us.  Thank you for Your mercy.  Amen.

Patricia

