UNIQUE GEMS

DSC00040

I recently had lunch with a few of my friends.  It was nice to spend quiet time with them.  We all felt weary after the Christmas busy-ness, so my aim was for us each to enjoy some down-time.

Prior to their arrival, I showered and dressed; choosing a comfortable outfit, because I felt the need for comfort after all the Christmas goodies consumed.  My cockpit check on appearance complete, I added earrings as a ‘top-it-off’ accessory.

Lunch was delicious.  The company great, and conversation interesting.  Methinks we all enjoyed the time together.  I know I did.

Afterwards, I  decided to dress down by removing my fancy clothes and my earrings.  I took each gem from my ears and then discovered that the earrings did not match!  OMG!  Being the perfectionist that I am, I thought ‘Well, I’ve been wearing mismatched earrings for the last two hours and nobody noticed. How on earth could I be so lax?’  Mismatched but not important enough to gain attention, because each piece had its own beauty, it had done the distinct work it was called to do. Shine.

Once upon a time I would have been very upset at my error.  I think it’s called vanity.  Imagining that all eyes are continually and searchingly on you.

God looks upon each one of us as unique and we too have been created for specific reasons.  We do not always understand our purpose, but do what we can with what we have.  As individuals we can appear to be all-put-together, while we struggle to be special by worldly standards.  Whether we are short or tall, slim or portly, handsome or not, we are unique and God intended us to be that way.  We are not perfect, but we can add beauty to life and to the lives of others if we take the focus off of ourselves and just be content to shine in our own particular way.

I have relaxed my expectations of myself of recent years, although I still aim for perfection, it is not of paramount importance.  I laugh at myself more easily, and the earring mistake I choose to think of as my owning a unique pair of earrings.  They are mismatched but still attractive, and on a positive note, if I lose these I know that without a doubt, I have another pair just like them in my jewellery box.

Psalm 139:16  Your eyes saw my substance, being yet unformed.  And in Your book they all were written. The days fashioned for me, when as yet there were none of them.

Patricia

