Why Am I Here?

IMG_4243

I’m sure I am not alone, when I own up to asking myself this question.  ‘Why am I here?’

I am known to move, with great purpose, from one room to another, with a particular goal in mind, only to reach the destination and ask myself, ‘Now, why am I here?’

Can you relate?

I looked out the window this morning to see starlings arrive, and perch in a tall tree.  They chuntered among themselves, looked up and down and all around, and I can imagine each one saying, ‘What did we come here for?  Why am I here?’

You see, for the past few years, they have arrived at this time of year and proceeded to raid a birdhouse, which stood beside the tree.  Whether they use it or not, they would empty each compartment (there were twelve) of the bedding and fly away with it.

Last year, after sparrows had claimed the house, it was removed.  The bird mess on the patio and furniture was pretty nasty, and I got tired having to clean the way, before I was able to use the area.

Hence, the bewilderment of the starlings.  They – presumably – had come to do their annual raid – but, what was it they were to raid?  The birdhouse no longer stood beside the tree, but here they were, but for what?

They hung around for a while, then flew away.  Empty mouthed (or is that beaked)?

In our daily meanderings, I think we all have vague moments.  Oh, come on – yes, you do!  NO?  Well, perhaps there are times when you lose track of your goal, and have to re-route. Nothing wrong with that.  It could save each of us a lot of wasted time and effort, if we accepted that we need to change our focus, and follow a different path in life.

How about you?

Do you like where you are in life?

Do you know what you are supposed to be doing?  If so, is it giving you the satisfaction, and productivity, that fulfills, or do you find yourself asking – ‘Where Am I.  What am I supposed to be doing?’

If so, be reassured in knowing, you are not alone.

Patricia

 

 

 

