Pickled

IMG_4716

Our summer has been pretty sad this year.  We have had so many rain days that you would think we were in England, Scotland or other temperature climate.

The difference, this year, is that while we in Ontario brandish umbrellas to stay dry, Brits are using theirs to shade themselves from the sun.  I envy them.  Canadians winters are brutally long and cold, so warmer months are treasured and used wisely.  I spend as much time outdoors as I can.  Housework accumulates until I absolutely have to tackle it.

The recent wet days meant the cancellation of certain open air activities; one of which was Creative Connection – a church group of talented and creative ladies that I am a part of.  This week was to have been a lakeside meeting where we would have learned skill saw creations, plus swimming, canoeing and conversation with awesome ladies, whose company I take pleasure in.   Yes, I did say this was a ladies group, and yes, I did say learning to use a skill saw.  As well as knitting, sewing, crochet and all types of other artistic handiwork, we all willingly learn (or watch) something new or different when the opportunity arises.

As this event was cancelled, I decided to be creative in the kitchen.  I enjoy making homemade chutney and pickles.  I also delight in eating them, and so gathering ingredients, preparing same and then cooking as directed, I accomplished a taste sensation despite the inclement weather outdoors.  This would not have been achieved if temperatures were soaring, because I much prefer to be in the great outdoors.

So – having shared this morsel of a blog, I can attest to being responsible for eight freshly bottled jars of Sweet Mustard Pickle standing on my kitchen counter.

These will be given away, as well as eaten at home.  The recipe has been in my family for decades, and is always much appreciated.  I can only hope this batch is as good as is anticipated by my palate.

How do you spend your days when the rain spoils your plans?

Patricia

