Endurance Wins

BookCoverRiksEffort

Winners win, because they refuse to give up.  They push themselves to extraordinary limits in order to accomplish the goal of the race before them.

In Corinth, the Isthmian games demanded that an athlete endure ten months of rigorous training, in order to compete.  Failure to do this, meant there would be no crown and, definitely, no glory.

I began writing my book, A Stolen Childhood, Eleanor’s Story, four years ago.  Today it is available to buy as an e-book but the print version demands strict setup and because I am self-publishing, I am the person responsible for the final preparation.  Writing the book was time-consuming (naturally).  Editing even more so.

My goal was to have a printed page turning paper book in my hands.  This was, and still is, my goal.  The constant need of change to appearance, etc.,make paying large sums to ave it done by somebody else – very appealing.  The challenge is that I do not have large sums of money to use.  SO – I plod on; approaching one print company after another to find one that will give me the prize for which I yearn.  A printed copy of my book – that I did not have take out a mortgage to obtain.

Do I get frustrated?  YES.  Do I want to give up?  YES.  More than I care to admit.  Yet, if I do, all those years of effort are wasted.  Just as an athlete, in Corinth, could be deprived of the crown, I would deprive myself of the sense of accomplishment that holding a paper copy of my book would give me.

This morning I was reading my Bible (1 Corinthians 9:24-27) and the words within those passages caused me to reflect on my efforts.  I have been consumed by dollar thinking, without considering a much greater reward.  The tangible proof of four years of writing, editing, rewriting, setup, and angst.

I want that book in my hands, and so I need to refresh my determination in order to reach that goal.

Do you have an unfinished project, that you just wish you could finish?  Why not bring it out and get back to it – today?

Patricia

Author of:  A Stolen Childhood, Eleanor’s Story.

Available at:

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00CHQI39U

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/308936

 

