Are You Loved?

IMG_1141

When life gets busy, we might overlook the importance of telling others how much they are loved.  This might lead to somebody wondering if they are, indeed, loved – and how much.

My children are busy.  When I say busy – I cannot impress enough, how busy their lives are.  They work full-time, in professional management careers.  They encourage their children to participate in after school interests: dancing;learning to play guitar and piano; soccer;basketball;military pursuits, etc.etc.  All these activities need time – not just from the children but also the parents, as they drive my grandchildren from one class to another.

The time it takes to say ‘I love you’ can, be filled with busy-ness and we don’t even realize we’re not doing it – telling someone how important they are to us.

So, my recent birthday, brought me to tears – nice tears, I might add, as one by one my children and grandchildren, phoned to give me their love and birthday wishes, while gifts and email messages expressed their deepest love for me – causing my deepest emotions to become exposed.  You (I hope) know the feeling.

A card from a grandchild with the words, ‘Nana, do you know how much you are loved’?  Upon opening the card a little critter has arms open wide and the caption reads – ‘This much’, with the words ‘Hug shown smaller than actual size’ beneath it.

A beautiful card from a son, and another from a daughter-in-law and messages galore.  The words from the cards are for my eyes only, so sorry everyone, I’m not sharing those.  My point is that it is so very important to let people know how you feel about them – how else will they know?

An email message from a teenage grandson.  What precious gifts.

I picture God with His arms open wide, saying to each of us, ‘Do you know how much I love you?  This much.  Hug shown smaller than actual size.’

Christmas is the perfect time to tell someone how much they are loved, or to show them how much you care.  It can make an immense difference.  A good difference.  Try it and see!

Patricia

Author of A Stolen Childhood, Eleanor’s Story

Smashwords.com and Amazon.com

