Sticking Like Glue

IMG_1471

Psalm 38:9-12  ‘You, Lord, know every one of my deepest desires, and my noisy groans are no secret to You.  My heart is beating fast.  I feel weak all over, and my eyes are red.  Because of my sickness, no friends or neighbors will come near me.’

Reaching for my Bible, the papers beneath it came too.  Not because I wanted them to, but because they were stuck to the cover.  I have no idea which substance was responsible – all I knew was – I had to physically remove the papers as they refused to let go.

Wrong (bad) behavior can do the same.  No matter what the sin (or misdemeanor), you can pretend it is not a part of your life, or that it was not your choice, but it will not leave until you decide to force it to let go.

God can and will give you relief.  Just as you are, with all your bad choices and stinking-thinking, He will gather you up and release you from all your turmoil and despair; but only when you choose to ask Him for help.

Perhaps, because of the way you live, those you love have retreated from you.  They refuse to come into your presence.  They do not want your lifestyle choices to stick to them.

It could be time to choose a new direction.  You can choose to stay where you are – in eventual isolation; or decide to ask God to show you a new way to live and stick to Him and His Word (the Bible) like glue and see where it takes you.

Psalm 38:15-18 I trust You, Lord God, and you will do something.  I said, “Don’t let them laugh or brag because I slip.”  I am about to collapse from constant pain.  I told You my sins, and I am sorry for them.  Many deadly and powerful enemies hate me, and they repay evil for good because I try to do right.  You are the Lord God!  Stay nearby and don’t desert me.  You are the one who saves me.  Please hurry and help.  (Contemporary English Version)

Choose wisely as you choose to change.

Patricia

https://patriciaeday.wordpress.com

Author of A Stolen Childhood, Eleanor’s Story

Available as an e-book at http://www.amazon.com and http://www.smashwords.com

