Raw or Well Done

I cooked ribs for supper yesterday.  I carefully prepared the meat with herbs and other flavorings.  Set them on parchment paper and covered them with foil.  Into the oven they went to become what is one of my husband’s favorite meals.

As suppertime approached, I stopped my work to concentrate on the meal.  I fixed the rice.  Set the table.  I pottered.  Meaning, I saw this and that requiring attention.  Checked the meat and brushed a final glaze on the ribs.

My intention had been to switch the oven off and let the ribs rest and finish.  Well, I did finish them off!  I forgot to turn the heat off and when I checked my ‘creation’, I found them drier than they should have been. Not inedible, but not as succulent as I imagined they would be.

Fortunately, with some additional basting they passed the taste test.  But, I knew how close disaster had come.

In much the same way, when disaster strikes, we humans can become frazzled.  One issue too many demands our immediate consideration, and we are hard-pushed to appear ready for action.  We feel as if we are being burned-up, as decision after decision wears us out.  Fortunately, much like the ribs, we can be refreshed if we are blessed with a Christian faith.

We call upon our Lord to HELP.  He always responds to our prayers: although sometimes we are hard-pushed to recognize the results.  His answer is not always our request.  What it is – is the very best option for our life.

The ribs were delicious.  I cannot say that they were cooked to perfection, nevertheless, they were tasty.

God’s response to our prayer requests is to give us the very best.  He will take us from being raw into delightful perfection, if we follow His guidance.

So, the question is:  What are you today?  Are you feeling raw or are you well done?

Patricia Day

