Summer Don’t Leave!

Hummingbird

Hummingbird

Every year, I am reminded by the media that summer is almost over.  Who says that Labor weekend dictates the end of Canada’s summer?

I live to be outside.  I like to garden, and love summertime.  The thought of intense cold, ice and snow, along with early dark evenings fill me with dread.

Then it happens –  the heat becomes so intense along with high humidity – that I wilt.  Sunset occurs earlier and earlier, until by eight in the evening, there is little daylight left.  I don’t particularly enjoy sitting outside when it is dark; besides bugs become a nuisance.  So, I slowly become acclimatized to retreating indoors.

I guess, this at least prepares me for the cold of winter.  I am less inclined to want to be outdoors and am more content to settle for being in the house.

On a positive note, there is the joy of Christmas to come and shortly after that – well goodness me – seed catalogs start arriving in the mail, and I happily begin to plan for summer again.

Nevertheless, I sadly watch as birds gather in greater numbers, knowing this to be a precursor that they are preparing to leave us.  But as this is the natural order, I settle for the  occurrence knowing it is only temporary.

However each year, it does not stop me from looking skyward at birds migrating and saying, “Take me with you.”

Patricia

 

