My Storms

I recently had a little pity party.  Okay – those who are privy to my requests for prayer, know differently; I believe they would say – Pat, it was really a big pity party.  It is just that you were in the middle of the storm and could not see it.

A list of storms were shared as my husband and I struggled through the waves that kept pounding us.  One challenge, after another, seemed bent on drowning us.  We were overwhelmed for days.  Then, news came of friends dealing with their own ‘storms’ and it struck me that even though our challenges are pretty immense, they were nothing compared to the dire straits of others.  I chose to be content with our battles, not wanting to even contemplate those I had no inside knowledge of and how they were affecting the lives of those involved.  

My Husband and I, are still in the midst of our storms, but we have prayerfully given everything to God because in our smallness, we are not equipped to ride the storms of life alone.  True to His Word – we have been led into a place of quiet.  We are content to accept God’s resolve and timing for whatever comes next.

Psalm 107:27-30 gives a clear message to all who experience the storms of life (and who doesn’t?) – they reel to and fro, and stagger like a drunken man and are at their wits’ end.  Then they cry out to the Lord in their trouble, and He brings them out of their distresses.  He calms the storm, so that its waves are still.  Then they are glad because they are quiet; so He guides them to their desired haven.  (NKJV)

‘Better to go through the storm with Christ than to have smooth sailing without Him.  (www.rbc.org – daily bread today)

 

